Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2003-11-11 - 12:47 a.m.

Welcome to NYC, NOW PAY UP!

Wow. Remember me?? Greetings from New York City. I am here on a two-week trip to do business, find a place to live, and to HIT MYSELF OVER THE HEAD WITH CULTURE SHOCK.

After six years in Europe, I had truly forgotten how much Manhattan has the ability to assault every possible sense at once.

And then there is the expense. K and I went to buy groceries last week and we had to mortgage a house to pay for them. It's unbelievable how expensive this city is.

Mind you, there are some extremely lovely pockets. I am currently staying with my friend Kay from college. She lives in the beautiful Park Slope neighborhood of Brooklyn. Brooklyn is fantastic. But unfortunately, it is also a 2-hour commute to my work place - NOT doable.

And this week of looking at flats has been the ultimate in painful reality checks. I saw bad,worse, and impossibly disgusting in the course of two days. So when I finally found heaven-on-a-stick (a tolerable two-floor apartment in a house in Forest Hills), I was crushed to learn that K didn't like it as much as the place in Brooklyn.

In the end, I took the wise course and decided to ignore him. I meet with the landlord, HOPEFULLY, on Wednesday.

Shall I tell you what a tolerable apartment in Forest Hills costs??? Are you sitting down?? $2000 per month.

NOw just imagine that EVERYTHING is that expensive. Getting two cups of coffee in the morning costs $7. I have been hit in the head by NYC and the brick it used is shaped like a gigantic dollar sign.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!