Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2004-08-19 - 8:21 p.m.

happy birthday to me.....

This year's anniversary of the invasion of Czechloslovakia by the Russians (and therefore also my birthday) has gone by seemingly unnoticed by just about everyone but me. Sigh.

I returned to New York on Monday evening and have spent the past few days doing little or nothing, apart from aging.

No, I don't want to sound like an "another year older" cliche. Instead I'm fitting quite nicely into the "another forgotten birthday" cliche. K remembered. My mother remembered. That just about covers it. And apart from that I've sat at home realizing that I haven't made a single friend in Queens over the last six months - not a single person with whom I could lift a glass and celebrate.

Okay, before I sound too pathetic - I could probably have gone into the office with a cake and created my own little party there. I could also have wandered across the street to my neighbor Mariane and asked her to share a quiet glass of prosecco with me. I don't really know her, but I think she would have obliged. And truthfully my friend J invited me to get in a train for two hours to go up and visit him (when you are deep in the heart of slugdom, you aren't so keen on traveling four hours to visit someone).

But, on the whole, I am indulging in some self pity before I throw my year-older body into bed and hope for a good year to come. There will be better birthdays in the future. sigh.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!