Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2004-09-24 - 6:43 a.m.

to sleep, perchance, to dream..

This morning I was supposed to wake up at a god-awful hour of 5:30am. K called me from Germany and woke me from another classic teranika dream.

I dreamt that I was in a family of frankenstein monsters. We met a second family of frankenstein monsters in the hallway at a festival. We then decided to fight it out to see would become THE family of frankenstein monsters. Given that these were all butt-ugly men with sledgehammers and that I was at least 2 feet shorter than they, I hid in a dark room off to the side to watch the proceedings.

Then they decided to set the rules for the contest. They decided to fight for 1000 seconds, and whatever team moved 80 meters first would win. I then set out to calculate the minimum rate at which the monsters would have to move down the hallway assuming that one family were to move forward and defeat the other team at a constant rate.

But in my dream I couldn't remember what to put in the numerator or the denominator. I think I was trying to calculation the rate at which they would have to move to travel 1000 km in 80 seconds.

And then I had a units problem. Was it kilometers? meters? Or god forbid, feet?

And then K called from Germany. And then I lay in bed, half-awake, reassessing how to calculate the rate of monster movement correctly.

For context: I gave my out my first examination yesterday. And I think that Frankenstein monsters bore a vague resemblance to some of the alpha gorilla wannabees in my department... but I could be overinterpreting.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!