Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2004-09-25 - 7:51 p.m.

on second thought...

Having just read my previous entry that winges about the NY Subway...I have come up with one very important point that I must add.

The NYC public transportation system allows me to live in this city without a car. It is sometimes an inconvenience. But I can do it.

This means that I save a tremendous amount of money per year in car payments, insurance payments, petrol, repairs, and upkeep. A mere $70 per month gets me wherever I want to go. That plus the occasional taxi STILL makes me better off than most chumps who are stuck in traffic jams or spend hours searching for parking...

A US report came out this month that says that the average American spends 42 hours in traffic each year. Think about how much time that is!!! That's more than your average work week is supposed to be! And that's the AVERAGE. It's probably twice that in NYC. Can you imagine what that means in terms of gasoline, toxic fumes, greenhouse gases, and wasted brain power across this entire country in one year??

So, yes. It could be better. But, it could be worse. When I am stuck on a subway platform, at least I am reading a book. I am so thankful that I do not waste 42 hours per year stopped in traffic.

So okay. Sometimes, you have to go backwards to go forewards. I buy it.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!