Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2004-10-05 - 10:35 p.m.

Josquin, Dick Cheney, Coffee, Opera

I've just returned from choir rehearsal and I have the wonderful polyphonic lines of Josquin dancing through my head. This evening we ended our rehearsal by singing in the atrium of the Music Department. The chords rang as though we were in a cathedral and although we ended with the pitch ever so slightly high, the open chords were tuned perfectly. Heaven.

And then while driving home, we tuned in to a portion of the debates on AM Radio. Not heaven. (Dick Cheney sounds exactly like the voice-over for the old, comforting Edy's Grand Ice Cream commercials. The mental incongruence between the voices of comfort-food and evil is rather unsettling.)

What times like this call for is a good cup of coffee..(kidding, kidding.) I've gone online and decided to try a replacement for my Italian automated coffee machine with a defective sensor. Since I've gone ahead and invested the time and taken the CD-ROM course, I might as well give it a second try. Who knows, maybe my machine was the one they built on Monday morning...

Besides, I looked at the Swiss model as a potential replacement, and it comes with TWO CD-Roms and a video, AND it costs almost four times as much as this one. That's enough to make you go back over the Alps and remember WHERE you had the better espresso. Was it Verona or Zurich?

Anyway, I've pulled out my Decca recording of La Traviata and I will try one last time tomorrow morning...(do you think these machines prefer Verdi or Puccini? I think Verdi, actually. But La Traviata or Rigoletto?).

Okay, enough silliness. I have a lot to do tomorrow, packing up this thing.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!