Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2004-10-27 - 9:21 p.m.

dinner with the President (no, not the idiot)

I dragged my tired body to work today at about 12:30pm so that I could do administration and grade a few exams.

and also so that I could attend a reception at the President's house in Douglaston. The President of the college is given a lovely house as part of his job. This particular president and his wife decided that the house belongs to the entire college community and so they sponsor monthly receptions for select members of the faculty. This month I was "selected."

What a beautiful house, overlooking Long Island Sound. We watched the sunset over the water, and started to see the lunar eclipse as well. And, what a lovely idea for a reception. I had the opportunity to meet several other members of the QC faculty, which I greatly enjoyed. I mentioned my recent proposal woes and was greeted with several offers of assistance from the sage faculty.

All in all a pleasant evening well spent. and now, an early bedtime in the hopes of overcoming this constant state of fatigue I seem to have entered...

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!