Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2004-11-13 - 10:18 a.m.

coffee tragedy..

This morning is a coffee tragedy.

I use a wonderful grocery delivery service - I order organic meats and vegetables and heavy bottles of water and kitty litter online, and for a fee of $5 they are delivered to my door. The food is amazingly fresh, always arrives on time, and is the same price as in the stores. Furthermore, I discovered last week that they roast their own coffee!! Imagine, fresh roasted coffee!

I did imagine. And so I had to try it. Sigh. Disappointment. Oily, weak. And even more tragedy: the only stuff I have in my apartment currently. I will have to put in an appearance at Porto Rico's - New York's BEST coffee house.

Mom called yesterday and asked me what I want for Christmas. I asked what she wanted, too. Hard to believe that it is already time to consider Christmas. The wonderful thing is that this year I will be able to use all of my old Christmas ornaments for the first time in years. Part of me wants to open the box NOW. The other part is waiting patiently for the joy of seeing all these old memories come out of the battered old box, to be decked onto a tree. There were some things worth saving from the piles of stuff in storage. Can't believe that I'm already talking about Christmas, except that it is the next time that I will see K and my family - and so my expectations are very high.

Next week I travel to DC for a software training session and I will see some old friend for the first time in about ten years. I'm also looking forward to it. Many times that I have visited old friends I have found that we share more in common than I ever believed. It's as if we've outgrown and discarded the superficial fluff and it's easy to get to the substantial centers where we are kindreds. I have a feeling that this will happen next week as well, and I am greatly looking forward to it.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!