Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2004-12-10 - 4:46 p.m.

I believe I can fly

Yesterday was the last day of class for this semester, which means, soon, I will have survived a full year as an assistant professor. Someone else pointed out this landmark to me - it is a tough one to feel because I already feel the coming semester looming before me, complete with 23 new lectures, papers, and proposal deadlines.

Nevertheless, last night was a brief moment of celebration. I met Kay at for as gospel concert organized as part of the Jazz at Lincoln Center concert series in the new complex at Columbus Circle. Rose Hall is a lovely venue - a smaller, more intimate space with sharper acoustics. The group did have some troubles with the sound system unfortunately. It took several songs for the engineers to get the mix right.

Nevertheless the new complex at Columbus Circle is just gorgeous (no lines in the ladies restroom!), and the concert was lovely. I had heard the Metro Mass Choir last Spring. The music they sing is not so complicated, but what is important is how they bring the message across. The two hour concert is full of concentrated energy and positive feelings. Just like last time I came away with the feeling of safety. - The energy of the performance makes me turn my own energy outward, and I felt very aware of the people around me on my subway ride home. I was conscious of myself, smiling at them. I was conscious of both of the large men sitting on either side of me. Their presence made me feel peaceful rather than uncomfortable.

Today has been grey, rainy, and miserable. I extended my celebration and played hooky - and stayed in bed reading a mystery novel (hee hee!). I will pay for it by working tomorrow. But I felt that I could afford it. More than anything, I felt the need for it.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!