Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2005-03-26 - 3:14 a.m.

...ramblings from insomnia...

Tonight is the second night in the row when I am experiencing insomnia. I can't remember the last time I've had it. I can only guess that the cause pertains to stress. My approach is to treat it like any roller coaster ride. It will be over soon.

I have given my telephone number to the Science press office and have been told to expect telephone calls next week, regarding my paper. Climate change remains a hot topic and so I should expect some interest from the press. It is a little bit nerve-wracking. I want to be very careful not to misrepresent the science.

We also learned yesterday that our grant proposal from last fall was funded. This particular proposal does not represent a big sum of money but rather a lot of work...but it is a nice little feather in our caps, and it will represent quite a nice little project in the end.

I spent yesterday (Friday) afternoon meeting up with an old college friend. She used to be a writing professor at a college in the south but left to pursue her art career and is currently getting a masters of fine arts in Boston. She was down in NY to visit a curator regarding some drawings she has produced based on the life of a recently deceased artist. There was an exhibit of this same artist's work at The Drawing Center in SoHo and so we spent an hour there as well. It was wonderful to meet with her and to see how circuitous life can be. After a long and winding journey, she has returned to a dream she had in her freshman year in college, and today's meeting would open her work to a broad audience. Very very exciting. I was so happy for her. So happy to see her recovered from her former academic life and return to a life born under a nurturing star.

Alas, my laptop battery is going dead and so I shall sign off now - who knows, I might even be able to sleep for a while...

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!