Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2005-05-05 - 2:41 p.m.

....pedagogic nightmare.......

I just snuck into the technicians' office cupboard to sample their attitude-adjustment medicinal supplies (a healthy swig of Jamesons Irish Whiskey). It is 2:45pm and I am ready to jump out of my skin with frustration. Part of the therapy was unloading my troubles to the technicians themselves.

I had my teacher evaluation today, and the evaluator confirmed that this class is somewhere very close to the top of the cesspool (remember that this is where the big chunks float...). Those students who sit in the back of the classroom were playing video games, sending text messages on their cellphones, and carrying on personal conversations. He said that they were entirely unengaged in the lecture, and I was doing little to engage them.

I confirmed, yes indeed, I've given up on engaging this bunch. I teach with powerpoint, I tell anecdotes, I explain concepts with my hands, and I ask 1-2 questions per class. But at some point the students need to meet you halfway. About 10-20% of the class seem to care, and I notice it. But it's embarrassing to mention the percentage of students who are failing. And by failure I mean successful completion of less than 45% of the work for this class.

I am at a loss. I guess I should be pleased to have a colleague recognize that this bunch is particularly bad. But somehow, it doesn't make the situation feel any better just to acknowledge that. You somehow would like to know that they have learned something - that your work isn't just a waste. Tonight I think I will go crawl under a rock and fester.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!