Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2005-07-23 - 5:19 p.m.

..a third place...

I recently watched an interview with Nora Ephron - the producer of Harry Met Sally, Sleepless in Seattle, and You've Got Mail. She introduced me to the concept of "The 3rd Place." Apart from work, and home, everyone needs to have a third place in their life. A place where they can separate themselves from both work and home. Ephron went on to praise Starbucks for so creatively grabbing the niche of 3rd Place in so many people's lives in the late 90s.


Although I can't imagine myself going to the McDonalds of Coffee to relax from my world, I found the 'third place' an interesting concept. In Germany I had lots of third places, starting with my own terrace. Then most notably there was was the Wagnergasse complete with the cafes of Stilbruch, La Boheme and Illy. I could spend hours in some remote corner with a book. In Sweden there was Stor Torget, and in Nyack before that, I had the Runcible Spoon. (K and I visited it last month during our tour upstate, and it still had the same wonderful charm).

Sadly, I don't have a place like that here..There is a Theater Cafe about a 15 minute walk from here, but it is just a little out of range to be a regular spot for me.

Today I discovered that the old Peruvian restaurant down the street has folded..and been replaced by a REAL coffee shop. One with REAL cups. There is hope. I just PRAY that they know how to make REAL coffee to put inside those cups. I went inside to chat with the owners this afternoon during my walk about town, and they seemed really pleasant. Not to put too much expectation on this little corner shop, but I have GREAT hopes.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!