Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2005-08-31 - 11:26 a.m.

...boring entry about school....

Ugh, I have been sitting on this entry for most of the day, and now I'm having an extreme sleep attack (it's only 4:45pm)....

***********

The first day of class has come and gone, and I still have my sanity. So far, no irritators....A few strange questions, but nothing absurd. I did ask how many students were taking this class only because it is a requirement...and more than half the class raised their hands. oy. Does not bode well.

But amazingly, I am almost finished with preparations up through October. I am working on lectures 8 and 9, and trying to finish up writing the first exam today. I am rather amazed. I may even be able to take Labor Day off.

I did receive the informal news that the last proposal was rejected..but it has happened in a rather odd and unfriendly way. We have waited more than six months and missed the next submission deadline. And yet, we are still waiting for an official letter from the program. I called to investigate, and apparently our proposal is still stuck on someone's desk waiting for signatures. My colleagues have all heard about theirs. Unbelievable. It is bad enough to be rejected after getting two excellent rankings and one excellent/very good ranking. But then to be stuck in a bureaucratic crack that prevents us from moving forward...We are very frustrated.

*****

Anyway, I am off to pay attention to the sleep attack. I have to be up at 5:45am tomorrow to make it to school for my first class.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!