Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2005-09-18 - 3:24 p.m.

..wet burritos..

Yesterday was hot and miserable. After running a few errands downtown, I went in to the lab. Saturdays at work are actually rather pleasant, especially on days when you would otherwise be complaining about the heat.

I finished up at about 7pm and started back home. Perhaps it was the heat...but I was hit by a startlingly strong craving for mexican food. I picked up a burrito at a local shop and then decided to take a bus so that my burrito would still be warm when I reached home.

In typical MTA fashion, the bus was late. and it started to rain. And then a little more. and a little more....By the time I reached my stop, large vertebrate mammals were falling from the sky. I tried to run to escape it, but gave up after five seconds. Because in a mere five seconds I was already drenched through to my backbone.

There is something liberatingly cathartic about a dramatic rain. I think I even WHOOPED out loud once or twice. In college I used to go out regularly in rainstorms in barefeet, just to jump in the puddles and to feel the release of becoming completely soaked. And ohhh, then to come back inside, strip naked, and sit in a warm robe with a hot tea. I love rainstorms.

Even the soggy burrito tasted scrumptious.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!