Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2005-10-29 - 9:39 a.m.

Cold and ennui

It is 6degC outside. I could have predicted that it was chilly from the sheer mass of CAT piled across the bed. (number of cats in bed in the morning is inversely proportional to outside air temperature, which unfortunately in my house only provides me with three possible data points: 0,1,2. I could modify the scale by considering how closely they are plastered to me, but that sounds like an awful lot of work for first thing in the morning, before coffee.)

I love this time of year, when it first gets cold. I want to lay in bed for endless hours in the morning. And then I want to be out walking on grassy hills and smelling rotting leaves. and then I want to come home, light a candle, start a glass of wine, and read a book. I think I've just planned my Saturday (err, except for the piles of work awaiting me).

It's been an unbelievably hectic time, and it has coincided with my first cold. I've left early and come home late, and sadly I seem to get nothing done in spite of the long hours. I am overcome by ennui. (Remember Edward Gorey's Neville? I hope I don't face the same fate.) The stories of what happens at school never seem to change, just the faces and names. I'm bored by asking the question, "what is it THIS time?"

I am trying to think of the cure for Ennui. Can we actually cure it? Or is it like the common cold:

It takes two weeks to cure the common cold, but with medicine, it only takes fourteen days.

In which case, maybe chicken soup is my only hope...

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!