Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2005-11-25 - 10:09 a.m.

..and indeed it WAS a happy Thanksgiving..

My grand plans to write a paper during this holiday have fallen by the wayside - but for good reason. Both friends Katherine and J showed up yesterday, and even relatively on time! I was thrilled. We had a wonderful Thanksgiving where we all cooked. Katherine made an absolutely phenomenal pumpkin soup.

J helped with the chopping for the fried apples and onions. He was so cute in his complete incompetence at the task (45 years old and he's not learned to peel an apple...) - ultimately he prevailed, although not without a healthy dose of teasing from Katherine and me.

The day was tension free. We bantered and laughed and had just a wonderful time. After dinner we pulled out the futon and were joined by the cats and watched Gosford Park, a great mystery film with a British society upstairs-downstairs theme. (It put my friends into comas...). Turns out that films about snobby British society pair very well with a healthy dollop of Monty Python's flying circus.

But wonderfully we just spent the whole day talking. Katherine and J hit it off superbly. And continued to talk about music and life even after I had curled up into a little content ball on the futon next to them. I dozed in and out of sleep to the light of the last burning candle and their ongoing conversation, which made me feel very happy and secure.

It was a terrific day of being and feeling myself. I am thankful for that.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!