Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2005-12-29 - 11:34 a.m.

home for the holidays

A quick note from midwestern 'home' - I am here with my mother, stepfather, etc., eating my way across the bridge between Christmas and New Year. Introduced my parents to fresh roasted chestnuts and a spicy celery salad last night. They unfortunately introduced ME to ginger molasses cookies. I wonder what culinary delights await us this evening. In any case, the theme of home is "food."

Christmas was much more subdued this year. We finally seem to have captured the essence of small presents. I am taking home three gifts for K, and three gifts from my family. This is greatly reduced from previous years of excess. I am hoping that my brother's family appreciates that their gifts were small this year. (in appreciation of the fact that I have spent on the order of $800/year to fly here to see them for the last 15 years...). It's the gift of presence and not presents that's important.

Mom is calling me to go for a shop - we will wander through the local mall... A metro train stop is being constructed directly across the street, and so soon this will be a very simple trip...

Off we go!!!

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!