Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2006-02-04 - 9:58 a.m.

...inappropriate clothing...

Thursday night I opened the windows in the house to let some of the fresh, relatively warm air into the flat. Yesterday morning I woke with the air still warm, and the sound of a tremendous rainstorm outside. It was pouring, and winds were sweeping through the trees behind my house. The sound of wind and smell of water was wonderful - and even though it was some 12C cooler, it reminded me of waking up by the waves in the Caribbean, or during the April rains in Providence. Rainstorms make my blood race. (err, to friends in Seattle: the key phrase there is "STORM" as in an EVENT with a beginning and an end).

Later in the morning I was reminded of a phrase I learned in Sweden:

"There is no such thing as bad weather, just inappropriate clothing."

I really need to buy some good raingear.

I was a pretty good sport about getting completely soaked during my walk to work...but my passion for the rainstorm had diminished a bit when I arrived at work, a drenched puppy in inappropriate clothing. Heavy rainstorms make me realize just how much of Queens was built on a wetland...Every sidewalk becomes a lake of water, and one is forced to cross the rivers that have sprung up in the middle of the streets and roads.

Fortunately I had a change of shoes waiting for me at the office, and also by yesterday evening the sun had come out against a brilliant blue sky - with the kind of clouds you see on the beginning of "The Simpsons." I sat in the back room of my flat with lit candles and a glass of wine as I watched the sun set below the trees. I'm glad that I enjoyed it because today is grey and cold.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!