Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2006-03-09 - 8:33 p.m.

...proposing...

Our work on this proposal is in full swing, and we are approaching the wire. This is the largest proposal I've ever attempted (US$3 million), and also the most half-assed I've felt about getting my shit together on it. It feels half-assed because I simply do not understand all the separate parts of the proposal individually. I feel like the one person on the proposal who has no expertise. But I am in the position of herding everyone together to do their specialized parts individually. I guess that means: "Coordinator."

I've never thought of myself as a coordinator, but now that I am in the position, I see that perhaps I am one. Aren't coordinators the ones who have the overview, but not necessarily the detailed picture? Maybe that is me.

If so, then I realize that I have turned into Attila - she was always the coordinator. This is like realizing that you have become the worst part of your parents. Except, maybe there is hope. Maybe I have taken the good parts of Attila - her incredible ability to coordinate, and her amazing perception of the larger scientific picture - and left behind the bad parts - the paranoid bitch-ass psycho heap of evil. Yes, I would like to think of it that way.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!