Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2006-04-17 - 5:29 p.m.

bike new york and moving

I'm in the final stretch of writing up a paper for which the drop-deadline is this Friday. I've already procrastinated for three months on the darned thing - I had better finish it up soon.

But in the process of procrastinating, K and I have decided that we will join 30,000 other New Yorkers in the 'Bike New York' tour coming up on 7 May. Five boroughs, five bridgets. The whole tour is 42 miles. Give my current state of UN-fitness...I'm not sure that I can make it the full 42. But I'm rarin' to go for the 26 mile marker. Bike New York is one of those things that I've always wanted to do. It seems like something that everyone living in New York SHOULD do. One of the things I've discovered is that many New Yorkers never actually do those things..One of my colleagues has lived in New York for the majority of her life, and I think I've done more New York type things than she has. Anyway, I've just encouraged her and her husband to participate, too.

K is already geared up for getting our bikes ready. His bicycle - along with the rest of his stuff - was supposed to arrive today, but he has also been lucky enough to win the US Customs X-ray lottery. The recent news articles about how "lax" the New York port of entry is has no doubt inspired the authorities to get stricter about the imported STUFF of immigrants. What those news articles do NOT tell you is that all of the X-ray and extra portage fees are charged to US. How very nice. Welcome to America. This is what we think of you and your stuff. Those with detail-oriented memories may recall that I ALSO one the X-ray lottery and was charged an additional $800 or so for my move.

Well, I've always said that moving is expensive, and always more expensive than one anticipates. Here's hoping we have bicycles soon.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!