Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2006-04-25 - 11:33 p.m.

...I MAILED IT OFF...

Whoo hoo! The paper is out! The paper is out! (well truthfully, I shouldn't celebrate, because I cheated a little bit on one of the figures. I know that it is incorrect, but I figured that it was correct enough to turn in for the moment, and I could amend the details in a less hectic fashion on Thursday)..

But I've been focussed on this paper for two weeks now - tonight I was so far behind that I took a taxi to choir practice to be on time - I used the great new Chinese taxi company - they don't really speak English. But this taxi had leather seats and a GPS and a no smoking sign (in Chinese), and the driver was playing some kind of relaxing, Chinese version of Sting on his CD player. It was pretty cool. And almost got me in the right mindset for singing Finnish in choir.

And so I've come back and mailed that sucker off, and now comes the rest of the week: Tomorrow I have to read two papers, prepare a lecture, and grade assignments. The movers come with all 65 packing items of K's stuff from Germany at 8am - which is rather distressing, but also ensures that I am out the door. I also have to meet and have lunch with a guest speaker, in addition to attending her talk.

Thursday I am tentatively scheduled to meet with the counselor of one of my more "challenging" students (see elsewhere for details at a later date), and then I must immediately hop the subway to a church on the upper East Side to rehearse for our concert on Sunday. I am holding on for dear life for Friday......

.....when a visitor arrives from Sweden - she will be here for one week. But the week will involve a evening at the Met listening to a performance of Rigoletto (one of my very very favorites!).

Okay, okay, enough spasticness for now.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!