Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2006-06-24 - 1:01 p.m.

...the bed issue...

K and I have sleep issues. We are sharing my full-sized IKEA special, which is just about big enough for K alone (he's 6'3" tall). Everytime either one of us rolls, the springy bedslats shoots the other one of us out of bed and across the room. Well, maybe not quite that bad, but it's enough to make for restless nights.

It is a point of discussion as to which one of us is the BED HOG. But since I'm the one writing this blog, I'll state emphatically that it ISN"T ME. This means that I normally wake up crammed into 12" of bed. K is a sleep imperialist. He colonizes without remorse.

The two of us had gotten better at dealing with this issue, and in fact, recently I have woken up to discover that I had retained an entire half of the bed. One morning I think I even had 60%. This makes for much better bed relations :-).

But then the heat came - and I don't want to be touched in the heat. He can't sleep with a fan on. I can't sleep without one. We roll and toss - which means that the other one of us is constantly catapulted out of sleep.

There is more to this whole bed discussion: how hard should the mattress be? should we get two mattresses to accomodate two different desired states of softness?? So today we planned to go to the mall and make a new bed purchase. But now I have a cold, and I'm really cranky. And all I want to do is lie here on this sofa and wait for the mailman to come. But K wants to go. And so we probably will.

K has just asked me to tell the "blog community" that he loves me. He may be a bed hog and I may be a cranky mess, but he's extremely cute.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!