Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2006-10-30 - 4:43 p.m.

back, with the same anxieties as before

I think it must be close to a month since I've reported to d-land! I left for the UK on October 1st and spent a week with blighty and her children before heading off to Norwich for what I called "science camp." I stayed in a dormitory-style room and ate dormitory-style food, and listened to dormitory-style noises... for two weeks. It was an intense research trip, but I came back invigorated, and thinking intensely about science, and what I would like to do. It feels like so long since I've been able to dedicate myself entirely to thinking about a scientific problem. It was wonderful - I am tempted to describe some of the insights that we came up with...but I am fairly certain it would produce yawns from the crowd. Maybe at a later date. But after being home for almost a week, I am already preparing for my next journey to Oregon - I leave on Wednesday.

In other news, I just finished my first Canadian proposal - woo hoo! Nice to be done with it.

I am writing from my new office, in fact. I'm not sure yet what I think of it. It's very new and white..and lonely. There are not many scientists nearby. I am getting a little anxious about finding a niche in my new department. Developing a great new project in the UK is one thing. Submitting a basic research proposal is another. Developing a new research plan that meshes with the interests of my colleagues is going to be a hefty project..

Anyway, it is dark outside, and getting late, and I want to be home early enough so that I can be awake early tomorrow for a fresh start.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!