Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2006-11-14 - 4:05 p.m.

...they're just gone...

I've discovered a distinct correlation between downward mood swings and days when I go to work.

Today is the perfect example. I have unpacked the rest of my boxes to discover that the movers LOST FIVE of them. The five that contain all of my lab supplies from Dutchess. Including all of my samples. They've lost my entire project's worth of samples. I was able to get those samples from another COUNTRY. They couldn't get the samples moved from another BUILDING. If you are moving NINE boxes, how can you lose FIVE of them??

I cannot explain how devastated I feel by this, about how much this hurts the project I'm working on, and about how much this infuriates me because it makes me feel like my department just disregarded me. I left detailed instructions about the move, and emailed them to three different people, and hand wrote them so that they were sitting on the desk in my office for the person who agreed to supervise my move. The instruction sheet was found a month later on top of a file cabinet that had been shuffled into someone else's office. The heavy equipment that was supposed to be moved with my things never got moved (I did it myself today). It makes me feel like they were just concerned with getting their seminar room back, and not with the safety of my things.

I honestly do not think that they realize where this puts me. And every time someone says in a friendly voice, "if there's anything else I can help you with just let me know." NO THERE IS ***NOTHING ELSE*** YOU CAN HELP ME WITH. THERE IS JUST THE ONE THING. YOU CAN FIND THE FUCKING BOXES.

Niceness is truly worthless to me when it is ineptitude in disguise.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!