Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2006-11-19 - 10:32 a.m.

...they keep telling me this is unusual...

On Friday while I was waiting for my lab refridgerator to be be delivered from Sears (it never arrived), K heard the wallpaper fall off the wall in our front hallway. Another leak. Another temporary. The landlord came in and gutted the front hallway and gave us a fan that now runs constantly, to dry out the 'dry wall' (what a misnomer THAT has become). The roofers came out and put in a temporary fix.

Here's a picture of dear sweet Tropical Depression Paul, who is expected to finish passing through by Wednesday:



I think at this point we are about 100 mm above the 170 mm monthly average for November precipitation in Vancouver.. jiminy cricket. K and I have decided to ask our parents for a foul weather gear fund for Christmas.

We are still warned not to drink the tap water, which smells of sediment. The turbidity levels acceptable for drinking water are below 1 NTU. The turbidity levels in our reservoir have dropped from 20 down to 14 NTU in the past 24 hours (yes, as an environmental scientist, I'm actually monitoring the exact numbers). I expect that this next storm is about to bring them up again. Great.

There has been a rush on bottled water at the local safeway, not surprisingly. So K went to our local foofy grocery store and bought out all the water on the shelf. We have an interesting and diverse supply of sparkling mineral water from Italy, Slovenia, and the Czech Republic. I didn't even know that Slovenia exported water. There you have it.

Tonight I feel like renting Singin' in the Rain.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!