Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2007-01-15 - 1:12 p.m.

...all in a night's work...

I had one of those nights of riotously fun monthly cramps that even three ibuprofen and a hot water bottle couldn't cut through. Actually, the hot water bottle was rather successful until it got cold, and that's why I woke up at 3am. Swallowed those life-giving ibu's...and waited....and waited....and by the time they started taking effect, it was already 4:30am and I was wide awake and thinking about all the work I have to do.

And so I got up, went downstairs, put the kettle on, booted up the laptop, and went to work. I was pretty darned productive: read a paper, sent out about ten review requests, put in two loaves of bread, and redid my presentation for today..All before 7:30am.

By about 8am I started waking K up so that we could get in a run, which we finished by 9am. It was NOT an easy run today. It was butt cold, icy, and like moving through molasses. It's always been my experience that the motion of walking and running somehow alleviates cramps. But moving is just so much more difficult when you've been up since 3am, you haven't had coffee, and and and yeah. everything.

I managed to catch a power nap on the bus up the hill, instead of reading another few pages in Love in the Time of Cholera. Everyone tells me this is a great book, but it has a slow start, compared to my more recent selections. I'm still withholding judgment, following the 50-page rule, but let me tell you it was quite easy to fall into slumber.

Ah well, off to fill a two-hour lecture slot for a lecture who canceled at the last moment - something that may also happen tomorrow if we really get another blizzard..

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!