Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2007-02-22 - 6:37 p.m.

...bumbles bounce...

Today was my work-at-home day, which involved a lot of brushing up on my knowledge of atmospheric chemistry so that I can teach it next week. I've also been cramming as much info as I can to remember what I've learned in the past about various environmental treaties. We'll see how things progress next week.

I had a pretty good Wednesday this week - I think that I am a lucky person, because when I hit bottom, I tend to bounce. And so I'm on the way back up. It does help that I was able to see small amounts of progress along with ongoing frustrations.

The good points are that my faculty has at last organized an office for me in the building with the other faculty. And a real faculty office, not just a tiny converted student space. That was a good thing. And so far this week I have managed to meet with four faculty members, not counting the lunch with the head of VP Academic, or the meeting with the Chair over the copy machine. So I've even been able to discuss some science. Also I've had a breakthrough with my co-editor, who launched full-speed into helping me on the volume we are editing together. So I don't feel alone there.

There are still frustrating elements - issues with recruiting students (and certain faculty who just don't have a CLUE). And of course the little social events, such as the Chair's going-away party, are consistently scheduled during my class - it's as if they don't have a record of my course - or ME - on their books sometimes. I am still astounded by this cluelessness.

Well, anyway. Develop the positive. I had a great idea for developing some research ideas with a woman in a different department, and my coffee with a different faculty member inspired a couple of other science ideas. In fact, I've decided to start up a weekly paper-review seminar on topics relating to global climate change. Perhaps I'll be able to entice a critical mass of people...we'll see.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!