Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2007-03-10 - 4:48 p.m.

..sick days don't matter when you have to teach...

I went in to work yesterday for a few hours, although I was still feeling shaky and under the weather. I had to meet with two students in my class (one of whom didn't show), and then meet with the student who is working in my lab. I got a little bit accomplished, although a couple of people commented on the fact that I looked and sounded ill.

And then last night was just horrible. I couldn't sleep, I had coughing fits, and was terribly congested. I finally climbed down the stairs onto the bordelo sofa at about 2-3am, and took some gel cap sleeping stuff mixed with cold stuff. It knocked me out until morning when K woke up. Then he came downstairs while I went up the stairs and BACK into bed for another four hours. And since then I've been back on Bordelo, staring into space, coughing, and watching bad movies. Bad movies are really quite good when your brain cannot focus on anything.

I was clever enough to cancel our dinner plans for this evening, when I woke up and still had no voice. Instead, it looks like an evening in with K, some take-out Thai food, and yet another movie.

Quietly, I am panicking over the fact that this week has been lost - next week is almost here, and I'm supposed to have lectures planned and assignments graded. Neither have happened. Which means that Monday is going to be a barrel of laughs. But I just can't bring my mind to focus on it right now.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!