Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2007-04-17 - 2:24 p.m.

...earth's victory?...

Last night I tried to start a review of a paper while riding on the bus, and I actually missed my stop. This has never happened to me before. And because I was on an express bus, the next possible stop was pretty well downtown, in the famed drug/prostitution area of Vancouver. So rather than get out, I stayed on the bus to the end of the line (Burrard Station). Then I took the Skytrain BACK to my stop and walked up the Drive to my house. All in all, it took an hour and a half to get home. hmph. Now I know why I never read work on the bus.

The paper that I'm reviewing is extremely interesting though. It uses a climate model to project what the earth and ocean systems will look like in the years 3000 and 4000, based on our projected emissions of CO2. And what it comes down to is that we've pretty much f***ed this planet over. We're talkin' hellfire. brimstone. A TEN-DEGREE warming. Cretaceous-like climate, and Cretaceous style mass extinctions no doubt. If Earth were a game of solitaire I'd pretty much be hitting the 'New Game' button and trying to start over. A new adventure for the human race, this will be. Sigh.

In other news...K and I were able to recover 1800 euros from my old Swedish bank account back from 1998. The money was just transferred to K's account in Germany, and I will use it to pay for my trip to Europe this summer. Nice to uncover funds you forgot you had.

I guess I'll get back to reviewing this paper. Wow.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!