Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2007-05-07 - 7:23 a.m.

..older and wiser...

Yes, there is another quiz on the surface of the planet (thank you, NYTimes Mag).

Click here if you are interested in assessing how wise you are. (and then click on the little multimedia section that asks if ignorance is bliss).

For the record, I'm a 3.7 - moderately wise.

Who are the old wise ones in your life?

The closer I know someone, the more I know their moments of high emotionalism and quick judgment. It makes it more difficult to abstract from these moments and see their true wisdom.

But if I were to rephrase the question as, "who do I first call when I need sound advice? why do I call them?" the answer becomes easy. My parents. My partner. My best friends. They think through a situation, they gently add a new dimension to my own perspective. They are careful with recommendations.

Actually, one of the wisest answers I've ever received came from my brother, back when I was considering whether or not to move countries in 2000. I knew that he did not want me to take a job far from his family. But that was not the answer he gave. Instead he sent me a series of questions that he thought that I should consider carefully before I reached my own judgment. His thoughtful response brought tears to my eyes. My brother is not an academic at all - he and I are proverbial night and day - yet his willingness and ability to put himself into my shoes to consider the question showed a wisdom that I'll never forget.

So, he's not the first person I'd go to in times of trouble. There is too much of a history of blazing adolescent battles between us. But it's rather nice to know that I could rely on him.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!