Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2007-05-30 - 6:55 a.m.

...generous attorneys!...

Yesterday at around noon I received a telephone call from our tax attorney's office, informing us that their team had finished our taxes. They had run four different scenarios (married jointly, married but separate, with different types of exclusions or credits) and found the one that would net us the maximum return.

I should be getting back on the order of $1k from the federal government. Our tax attorney's fee is on the order of (guess) $1k!. Well, actually, I was still very happy, because there were a whole bunch of new rules put into place in 2005 that made it very difficult to determine where I stood, and there was a likelihood of my doing something very wrong with my primitive tax software. And I had made several mistakes, although pride forces me to admit that I had the theory correct and had chosen the correct scenario (even if I chosen it out of lucky instinct...)

Anyway, when I got home and reviewed their work, I discovered that they had (a) charged me at least $300 less than they had originally quoted me, AND (b) they had also finished my state return for me! Amazing. I was very impressed. (and the state return will more than recover the fee).

But the difficulty now is that we have to secure K a US tax identification number so that we can complete our taxes. Apparently the fastest way to do this is to drive down to the nearest IRS office in Washington State. Great. Well, I am planning to drive to Oregon for work next week anyway, so our plan is that I simply drop K off to complete his paperwork, and then my student and I continue on our way.

So next Monday we pile into the car for another cross-border adventure to pay our taxes. woo hoo.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!