Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2007-11-02 - 6:14 p.m.

...random minutia for a tired friday...

This has been a particularly long Friday - I was up at 5:30am to prepare for class and finally reached home at 5:30pm. But overall it was pretty much a good day, even though I am once again faced with 400 odd pages of grading.

This afternoon, I sat through a proposal meeting with BETA MAN, and I continue to think that he is really a good guy after all. Yes, he's the type of person who makes coffee nervous. But he is a really excellent scientist, focused, interested, and very good at listening and acknowledging people's ideas in meetings. Nice to come away with such a respect for someone.

Baby has decided that her newest indoor sport is to stick her foot straight out through the top of my stomach when things get boring - like, during faculty meetings. I wonder if people are able to see this bizarre protrusion, or if they just notice me looking rather uncomfortable until I can coax her back down.

I've also noticed - from a particularly boring meeting that I had to attend this week - that Baby starts doin' the mambo when one particular university administrator speaks. He has a very high-pitched and somewhat whiny, raspy voice, and the minute he begins, she's off on her little two-step. I don't want to think too much about what this connection between a high-pitched male voice and Baby's urge to dance might mean.....

In other news, I have been invited - oh lord - to a "diaper party." God save me. This is supposed to be the same thing as a tupperware party, except we preggo ladies are supposed to sit around, eat vegan food (because the organizer is vegan), watch diaper demonstrations done by the diaper diva herself, and then shell out lots of money to buy cloth diapers. I think that shaving my head with a cheese grater sounds like it would be more fun. I'm planning to be sick that night.

And last tidbit. I learned today about the passing of Fup. Store Cat. sigh. Goodbye, Fup. Yours was my first blog.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!