Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2007-11-20 - 8:11 a.m.

...still need energy...

Second 'shower' over and done. It was lovely to see a lot of faces that are now familiar standing around and chatting. The gifting part was extremely (happily) small. One of our department staff made me a QUILT. It's BEAUTIFUL. Another staff member gave us a blue whale puppet. cute, warm, and yet educational. We are lookin' at some good baby karma here.

Tired. Still unbelievably tired. I've started waking myself up with snoring. I am officially a snoring whale. K can hear me from downstairs (or so he says). Time to find that neti pot or those anti-snoring nose clippy things. depends on my level of innovation and desperation I guess.

It's Thanksgiving week. And do you know what I will be doing on Thanksgiving Day???? TEACHING. sigh. That really does make me a little bit sad. Do you know what I will be doing on the Friday after Thanksgiving? TEACHING AGAIN. sigh sigh. These are the truly tough parts of living in a different country. Thanksgiving was my favorite holiday growing up (after I outgrew the glory of Christmas presents) and it is always the time when I think longingly of home even though I haven't been home for Thanksgiving in over ten years. Sigh sigh sigh.

I called home last night and got to talk with my parents and aunt and uncle (who are visiting for an early Thanksgiving before visiting my cousins who are also expecting..) They were sufficiently lubricated with red wine so that much laughing ensued. That was nice.

And now I must run to get the bus to Mountain for another committee mtg. add more sighs here. I am really tired this week and want to be doing other things. But at least the sun is shining.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!