Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2008-01-06 - 11:58 a.m.

...arme ritter....

This message is for blighty: still an inside baby.

It's noon, and I'm hungry, and I don't want to fix breakfast. So I've just coerced K into making French Toast. He looked at me uncertainly...

"Can you show me?"

So I took his hand and walked him into the kitchen and showed him the bowl, the pan, the eggs, the milk, and the bread...and then I explained that it was kind of like Dustin Hoffman and the kid in Kramer vs. Kramer, only you don't fold the bread..

And he said, "OOOOHHHHH! Arme Ritter!"
German name for French Toast: Poor Knights. whatever. I stopped questioning food names after the English introduced me to Bangers and Mash and Spotted Dick, and the German Mense offered up a lovely portion of Dead Grandmother (you just don't want to know).

So K does know how to make French Toast, thanks to the Kramer vs Kramer reference. Of course, then he asked, "Don't we have to get a divorce before I can make that??"

What a card, that K.

But now breakfast is almost ready. So off I go to eat the meal of poor knights.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!