Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2008-03-18 - 5:28 p.m.

...day in the life....

Yesterday we took Susi to the doctor to get her first vaccinations. I nearly had to leave the room when the doctor started poking her and she looked up at me with that horribly sad little tear-streaked face. Fortunately, it was over so quickly, and she was such a trouper. She cried just a little bit, and then was fine. There seems to be a slight tender lump that has developed in her right thigh, and she squealed this afternoon when I accidentally touched it too strongly. But her tears pass so quickly - she was just fine in a few minutes. We are extremely lucky to have such a good-natured baby who rarely cries.

This afternoon I tried my hand at just putting her down for a nap - that is, not waiting for her to fall asleep on me. She cried for about five minutes and then just settled herself down. It's the first time we've tried just leaving her to cry it out until she sleeps. Those five minutes felt like an eternity. But she did it. Again, Susi is a little trouper - both K and I find ourselves wanting to tell the world that we've got the most brilliant kid on the planet...

I am still struggling with getting things accomplished. It's tough to get anything done. Yesterday, I was able to put a significant dent in processing our taxes, but I'm still not sure that I have a handle on international tax agreements between US and Canada. So, tonight I'll be combing through the work of the professional from last year, to see if I can get some ideas of how to do things. Amazingly enough, we still have not received our 2006 tax refund from the Empire State - a sum of nearly $2000. We filed back in June of 2007, too. Another action item...I wonder if we will have to count that refund as 2007 income, even if we've never received the money...

Okay, the little one has risen. Time to become a wet bar again.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!