Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2008-03-31 - 1:50 p.m.

...you say Auster, I say Austin...Let's call the whole thing off?....

There is a rather amusing piece in the NY Times Book Review this week, about how we screen our partners. I found it funny because I think I know people who would actually break up with someone over these types of details.

So what do you think? Is there a book or author who would be a dealbreaker for you?

Well, truth be told, I might send my partner to dumpsville if I discovered that he were a closet Rush L1mbaugh fan. And there are some popular authors whom I find a bit tedious (Nick Hornby, Ayn Rand), but I don't think that I would dump K if I found out he loved them. (He loves Arnold Schwarzzennneager films, and that hasn't caused any major riffs so far).

Come to think of it, well, K doesn't read books. I've never seen him read one. But I don't particularly mind that. In fact, it means that I can tell him about the books that I'm reading and feel fairly confident that he's never read them before. He prefers online news, newspapers, magazines and online reviews. He's much more of a non-fiction dude. And I enjoy it when he tells me about them.

***

Susi was a hit at the party yesterday. She put on her chocolate face and smiled at everyone (saving her tears for me and K later - wow, you can tell when a baby gets overstimulated). I had a 3-mile walk in the sun with her, to and from the party, and that was quite pleasant and invigorating. Walking is so good for the mind and soul - I took her out again this morning for a meander down the Drive. When sunny weather hits Funcouver you have to make the most of it.

Okay - just looked over and noticed that she's woken up (she is just lying there staring contentedly at a picture on her storybook quilt). But it is food time for her, so I guess this time snack has come to an end. Back to work.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!