Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2008-06-27 - 6:31 p.m.

...the value of stick-to-itness...

One week ago I came home feeling the size (and value) of a snail. Today I attended a meeting of the same committee and came away with an entirely different feeling. Three people came up to me and asked about my proposal. One person said that he was so glad that I was representing my department and that I was bringing useful comments to the table. Another person (the woman I recently described by declaring that she and I will never be friends) called me after the meeting and talked my ear off for an hour about her ideas, with the justification that "she and I seem to think the same way."

I spent the last few days fielding email criticism from members of my own department in preparation for this meeting. (That's the literal definition of criticism, i.e., both positive and negative comments). But it's all very interesting to me, because I noticed that within my department, NONE of it felt personal. I realized that I now understand how my department works. It felt more like fielding scientific comments from reviewers and participants on the same project. That's very very good. Because it means that I am feeling secure enough to listen to criticism.

Amazing. This is a lot of work. But you know? I feel like it's progress.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!