Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2008-09-26 - 9:28 p.m.

...friday night grumps...

Hurrah! Another week concluded. Yesterday was The Big Presentation of our committee's report - which resulted in an entire day of meetings with a class sandwiched in the middle. I knew that I was overwhelmed when a student in class pointed out to me that I had repeatedly referred to Vancouver Island as Victoria Island. I wanted to say, "WELL DUH! YOU DARNED CANADIANS REPEAT SO MANY FREAKIN' NAMES ALL OVER THE PLACE! NO WONDER WE CAN'T KEEP Y'ALL STRAIGHT UP HERE!!" Instead I said, "Did I? huh. Please excuse me, I'm just a naive Amurikin. Really, I DO know the difference. Nevertheless, THAT's kinda embarrassing." They laughed.

Anyway, I came home yesterday afternoon and collapsed into a deep sleep, and was in a fog all day today. But I can do a little dance, because it looks like this particular committee work is almost completely finished. WOO HOO.

This week, I was also asked to introduce a rather famous Canuck at his book opening downtown. I've never been asked to introduce someone before. It's kinda cool. I immediately went online and googled "how to give a good introduction" or something like that. Might as well do this right. It looks like a very neat book - about global warming and its impacts on this neighbor to the north, along with a scathing indictment of the current Canadian administration and its irresponsible treatment of the problem. (actually, it might be a scathing indictment of the previous administration as well - they didn't do much better in that they just pretended to care... what is it with north american countries and this sense that they don't have any responsibility to deal with global problems??).

Speaking of dealing with problems. I made my sweetie a coffee cake...and I forgot to put an aluminum tray underneath it, so our oven is full of burning leaky cake goo. It smells AWFUL. Better go deal with that before I get started on my OWN government and its lack of transparency. Wouldn't know WHERE to begin THERE....


leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!