Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2009-07-10 - 9:54 a.m.

...Kaiser weather indeed...

There is something wonderful about the crispness of air and sunshine following a healthy rain. The weather today is spectacular.

K and I woke before Susi and after a short cuddle we came downstairs and sat on the front porch for a few minutes with our coffees. The sun was warming us from the east, and also shedding splendid light on the downtown Funcouver skyline. It was glorious - and still is.

K and I visited a couple of open houses yesterday. They were very ho-hum. Perhaps we are just too picky, or perhaps The Market really is just too crazy.

The Market.

K thinks that people around here talk about The Market as if he is an irritating little old man running around doing crazy things. No one has control over him, he is wildly unpredictable, and terribly antisocial. But everyone talks about him and wants to know what he's doing.

Anyway, it's hard to think about The Market when the weather is so glorious. By now there is too much haze in the valley for me to see the Olympics and San Juan Islands from my window (so it is not PERFECT weather), but I have a lovely view of the Fraser Valley, and some majestic cedars and hemlocks just down the hill from me.

**

There were several other topics that I thought of writing about today:

- academic politics
- a new and very interesting book about science in america
- a recent interview with Ruth Ginsberg
- the french family who have moved in next door

I think I'll restrict my remarks to the weather.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!