Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2009-09-15 - 10:20 a.m.

...in house closing hell...

I know more about a certain Canadian bank and BC house closing procedures than I ever wanted to know. There is a certain Canadian bank - I don't want to (SEE) mention (EYE) any (BEE) names (SEE), but this bank is just AWFUL. But we are bound to use it in order to be eligible for the subsidy from Mountain University.

Two-thirds of the subsidy is eaten up by this certain (SEE EYE) bank's (BEE SEE) horrible non-competitive rates, and we are thinking now that the remaining portion of the subsidy was not worth the time and hassle of wading through the lying, incompetence, and lack of transparency.

We are now officially stuck between a rock and a hard place. We are closing, we have been forced to sign documents on which EVERY number was WRONG, under the assurance that "this is always what happens - we'll send you the right numbers in a week or so." So we don't even have the bottom line of what we are paying. There are clauses in our approval contract that outright contradict each other. This morning we got an email saying that the bank hasn't funded us yet.

We've handed over our life savings to a lawyer, and are entering a contract with a bank that apparently can't calculate numbers. And we stand to lose LOTS of money if this guy f's up.

The yoga side of my brain says, "It's only money. and it's only a house." And I'm able to relax and sing along with the radio for a second. But then the stickler in me just gets worked up and offended by being forced to work with a total incompetent.

This is me putting my fingers in my ears and singing along with Deborah Harry, who fittingly came on the radio in the coffee shop this morning:

"THE TIDE IS HIGH BUT I'M HOOOOOLLLD-IN' ON....."

I love Deborah Harry. Thank you, Deborah Harry.

check this space for more details....soon. For we will know by the end of the day if we have keys, or if we have lost thousands and are homeless. Either looks equally probable at this point.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!