Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2009-11-20 - 2:16 p.m.

...it's begun....

As of this writing, Susi has successfully used the potty four times. And thus our family enters that very delicate time period in life when all the parents talk about is whether or not the child has made a "pee pee" or a "poo poo" on the "potty." Oh joy.

I'm thinking of buying a new domain name called "letstalkaboutpoop.com." Or maybe not. But it's safe to say I've discovered how this topic can start to occupy your thoughts as it never did before.

In our case, Susi is THRILLED by the whole concept of pee pee and the potty. She runs through the house saying, "potty? potty? potty?" which I find kind of bizarre, but oh well. She's a cute little kid who does funny things.

In my efforts to make the whole exercise kind of a fun thing, I've started to blow pustefix bubbles for her when she sits on the potty. So now when I mention "potty," she runs through the house excitedly saying, "bubbles? bubbles? bubbles?".

Hey, whatever works. Nevertheless, when I do these things, I have these images of my child, 20 years from now, still attached to the routines we've established for her as a toddler.

Will she always feel compelled to blow soap bubbles while sitting on the white porcelain throne? What happens in public toilets when she's in college? (now there's a question I really shouldn't be asking.)

For that matter, by serving her foamed milk with cheerios and a spoon and calling it "Coffeee", have we forever influenced her future coffee house experiences? Is our child doomed to crave breakfast cereal in her cappuccino? And how will her first date in a coffee house go?

I'm glad these are the worst of my problems.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!