Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2004-02-15 - 8:58 p.m.

A needed distraction.

I have just returned from John F Kennedy airport where I deposited A on her flight back to Frankfurt. A came to my rescue a week ago - she booked a spontaneous flight to New York to see me, to play with the girls, and to roam the streets of a famous urban jungle. We did all of these things together, and her visit has served as a therapeutic distraction from the current life-that-is-mine.

Through A's eyes I had a chance to discover New York - from our walk across the Brooklyn Bridge to our discovery of a coffee house in Greenwich Village that sells in-house roasted fair trade organic french roast costa rican coffee..wow, what a trip. So wonderful to be exhausted by something apart from stress.

The stress remains, but again the therapy of being with someone who could laugh with me and drink coffee with me and play with the cats, and make fun of the natives..That was a priceless gift from her to me.

A helped me to see the level of stress that I am in. I am forgetting my own words halfway through my sentences. I cannot make decisions. My thoughts derail and change course 5 times in 5 minutes. It's enough to drive anyone crazy.

But a week of devoting my energies to sightseeing and culture will hopefully revitalize me for the coming weeks. One can only hope. Right now I am a little sad to have said goodbye - Mizzy is circling the apartment in search of her - but mostly I am happy to have enjoyed such a wonderful week.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!