Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2004-03-22 - 3:23 p.m.

another visit!

It is now 3:30 pm and I have managed to have a very productive day, which feels wonderful. naturally I still have miles to go before I sleep. But o how satisfying to have already accomplished a great deal BEFORE that.

As I was sitting in my office something that rarely ever happens happened. I received a buzz on my cellphone (I used to call it a "handy."). Not only was it NOT a wrong number, it was from IRELAND!

I'm receiving a visit from my dear Ilonina. Not only will she visit, she will stay over night in my humble abode that is now fit for inhabitants. She was exceedingly apologetic about the short notice. I, on the other hand, am thrilled to have her, and was wondering if I should in fact in some way try to tone down my enthusiasm for fear of startling her....But really we haven't seen each other since last summer's coffee at Illy in the Wagnergasse. The time is overdue.

In fact I will accompany her part way into the city on Friday. She on her way to public transportation in order to get to a distinguished institution of higher learning on the East Coast, and I on my way to City College to meet with a potential research colleague. I was somehow struck with the novel idea that I should apply for internal research funding, in particular a junior-senior faculty collaborative grant to study the potential impacts of dust on cloud formation. Or something like that. We shall see what becomes of it, but I already am blessed with the positive omen that Ilonina will take me half way there.

I will keep you informed of the results, safe to say it is nice have my mood a bit buoyed today. I just which that its buoyancy weren't changing so rapidly all the time....

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!