Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2004-08-20 - 8:56 a.m.

more from Attila

My goodness, words certainly aren't failing me now. They haven't failed the cats either, who are racing through the apartment, interjecting loud comments, and tearing up the rugs with big bushy tails (err, the cats have big bushy tails, not the rugs).

Yesterday I received the final comments on a paper that has been more than a year in the making. The comments came from my former boss and now collaborator Attila. It amazes me how certain people can exercise such control over your biological functions. Just seeing her name appear in in bold in my Inbox makes me feel like I've received a kick in the chest.

Interestingly, her comments were relatively minor - she actually isn't very much of an expert on this topic, but was included more for political reasons - yet even her minor comments are stated in a fairly aggressive manner.

Fortunately, after feeling the initial "kick," I've been able to remind myself that she has absolutely NO CONTROL over my life anymore. All I need to do is to finish this paper and get it published..and then she will be out of my life (err, until we finish the next unfinished paper. argh).

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!