Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2004-08-20 - 8:35 a.m.

drop the dinosaur!

The day after the birthday looks brighter. This morning brought several belated birthday greetings and e-flowers that have boosted my mood. and even some diaryland greetings (thanks elgan!).

Now that I am back in the USA, though, I am still in a state of paralysis about what to do next. It is not a question of having nothing to do...it is rather deciding what to do first. When faced with such a long list of things to do it seems that I always choose to do nothing. Maybe that isn't such a bad thing.

My last efforts in Germany were to organize a USA tour for my former choir in J*na. I have set up five concerts for the east coast of the USA over Easter 2005. But I have been rather disappointed by the lack of effort on the side of the Germans. After putting in many hours of work on this, finding concerts, translating brochures and redoing them in English, mailing out CDs, finding a non-profit organization and rental organization in Boston for our music equipment...after all of this work on my part, my requests for help from the Choir Committee remain repeatedly unanswered. Not even an email confirming that they had received the schedule that I had organized.

My 36th year of life became lighter when yesterday I resigned from my role as remote organizer. I have forwarded all of the contact information to the music director and emphasized that as a tenure-track professor, I have other obligations. I leave it to him to do this now. Sometimes you have to let go, and drop the dinosaur you've been trying to drag forward! There. It's dropped.

ummm....which urgent project should I start NOW?

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!