Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2004-11-01 - 9:21 a.m.

pollster report

It is Monday morning and now, according to www.electoral-vote.com, Kerry leads Bush in estimated electoral votes, 298-231, with 270 electoral votes required to win. Given the historical unreliability of the polls, however...I still feel a semi-constant tingle between my shoulder blades, creeping up the back of my neck. The world needs Bush to lose. But whatever the outcome, I am sure that it is going to be a bloody, drawn-out battle in the courts, one that may outperform the political coup of 2000.

I live in a state with reliable voting booths. Nevertheless I am arriving equipped with passport, a telephone bill, my voting card, and information about what type of ballot to demand if I am turned away, and a telepone number to call if I suspect corruption. Paranoid? just prepared for the worst, although I do not expect it.

In the meantime I'm off to NYC to visit a colleague this morning, and then back to the school to do tons of paperwork. My job. yes, my neverending job. Would love to have a weekend when I do not work.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!