Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2005-02-16 - 5:03 p.m.

!!The Gates!!

Lia arrived safely from Germany yesterday, and I took a needed break to be at home to meet her. I was supposed to go to choir last night. But I so NEEDED an evening at home! I worked until her arrival at 9:30pm, and then we chatted for another hour before the jetlag took her. I went to bed shortly afterwards, which means that I had the luxury of a full night's sleep! It was heavenly.

This morning, we had a leisurely breakfast before going to Central Park to see The Gates. I've listened intently to the press about The Gates, and I know that Christo and Jean-Claude are somewhat controversial as artists. (You seen one wrapped building, you seen 'em all..). Ever since I saw the design for the Gates - bright orange flags lining the 23 miles of Central Park in the greyest month of the year - I've known that it would be wonderful. AND IT IS.

Central Park has always been a haven in NY City. Now it is a glorious bastion of orange against a grey sky. The mood is spectacular. (I can imagine how great this is if you are Dutch...). Christo and Jean-Claude have hired helpers who move throughout the park, cheerfully fixing entangled flags, chatting with visitors, and answering questions. The park was swarming with youngsters with pad and pen, drawing the Gates. I wish it were longer than 16 days.

You might philosophize about the purpose of art - I value anything that can put a smile on my face for 5 consecutive hours! They have done something wonderful.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!