Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2005-03-26 - 10:43 p.m.

...a good hair day....

Today I am having, of all things, a GOOD hair day. Given the amount of money spent, it should be. Samantha picked me up this afternoon and we drove east out to Woodbury (on Long Island) where she had made two appointments for hair cuts. It turned into an entire afternoon experience. I went in and said to the lady, "Please FIX my head." And she did! My coif has changed from Frumpy Academic to Polished Academic Trying Not to Look So Damned Frumpy. Seriously, she worked long and hard at creating a shape to my hair, and adding a cinnamon color that makes it shine. I feel so much better.

Afterwards I took Samantha out to dinner and then we went shopping in a mall. Always a bad idea to shop AFTER dinner, but it was nevertheless fascinating to see the range of fashion out there. Now that I will be giving guest lectures at a few new laboratories, I think that it is time to dump frump altogether. This could mean more visits to shopping centers...and it could be problematic because much of the current fashion is rather juvenile (I don't think a shirt resembling a see-through pink neglige is really the look I'm going for). I may seriously have my work cut out for me.

Shopping is hard work!

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!