Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2005-05-02 - 6:45 p.m.

...Vancouver...

Just returned from Vancouver and I am exhausted. I gave three talks and spent much of my time in meetings with people, discussing science. It was a very good albeit tiring visit; my penthouse hotel room overlooked English Harbour where I watched the sunset with a glass of white wine every evening.

Although the skyline is uninspired, Vancouver is beautifully situated, especially for outdoorsy types. There are bicycle lanes all along the waterfront. My friend Eddy thinks that Vancouverites are a bit kooky - a bit too into Yoga and outdoor sports. I did detect a distinct lack of sarcasm...but at the same time, people were friendly and I could get a cup of coffee in a REAL cup while listening to Joni Mitchell.

Cats have a special predator in Vancouver: COYOTES. Apparently they even roam the downtown streets and beaches at night. My friend Eddy lives in a small one-bedroom apartment that he has set up as a 3-dimensional playground for his five cats. They don't go outside, but they are free to roam up and down the ramps and ladders he's built for them. They are rather relaxed creatures. I think that they do yoga and bicycle when Eddy isn't looking.

On my first day walking through downtown, I noticed that the streets were cluttered with small pink things. I assumed that my peripheral vision was picking up everyday ordinary street clutter / garbage. When I looked more carefully, however, I realized that I wasn't seeing garbage - the streets of downtown were strewn with a fine layer of fallen cherry blossoms. It's an image I think I'll keep.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!