Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2005-05-30 - 1:49 p.m.

burn out

I returned from Toronto on Saturday evening. It was another long day of sitting at airports, mostly because I didn't expect the Toronto airport to be so darned efficient. I arrived nearly three hours before my flight (taxi was early), and I made through check-in, immigration, security, and a bus ride to the other terminal in all of 30 minutes. So I sat marking exams. Actually, an airport is a remarkably good place to mark exams because you are essentially TRAPPED there. I marked and recorded most of the class of 75 students. Depressing, but efficient.

Since my return on Saturday I've fallen into a bit of a stupor. A funk. Not quite a depression - just a deep energy well, and from down here I have not wanted to contact anyone. I had obligatory telephone calls to parents and K on Saturday evening, but I ignored the phone yesterday, and I spent the day lying on the sofabed, mentally unable to move myself. Strange.

Today I was supposed to have a meeting with a student, but I cancelled it. I think that I am having a very difficult time getting myself motivated with regards to anything professional. Well, I WILL finish marking this afternoon...and I will look at other tasks that are mounting on the ever-lengthening "To Do" list. K arrives tomorrow evening and I am so painfully ready for our holiday.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!