Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2005-09-21 - 8:43 a.m.

..appletini in plural is not a good thing...

The subject of this entry says it all. Last night I went out with a colleague to detox. He had beers, and I had .... APPLETINIS. I normally refer to this drink as the "toxic jolly rancher" - and I can only stomach them about 2-3 times per year. My last intake occurred sometime in May, and so I guess it was time to remember what I like and dislike about them.

I have a similar relationship with Twinkies. The last time I ate a twinkie was in July, 1990. The last time before that must have been about May, 1977. And then in July, 1990, I somehow thought, hmmm, I'd sort of like to try a Twinkie. One was enough to remember that I think they are disgusting. (then again, in 1977, I think my obsession was actually with the chocodiles that Karen Layher's mom put in her lunchbox every day. My mom never put any sweets in my lunchbox, because my mom never made me lunch. She gave me lunch money for the hot lunches cooked by Mrs Kloss, the fat old German lady in the white cafeteria clothes that were always spattered with sauces. That meant I got things like canned peaches and pudding (blech) for dessert. And furthermore, Mrs Kloss got irate if kids didn't eat her food. She would come out and yell at us until we cleaned our plates. Everyone was terrified of her, especially on the days she served BEETS. I sooo wanted my mom to make me lunch so that I didn't have to eat Mrs. Kloss's beets, and so that I could have a chocodile, too.

Anyway, I can blame this chocodile longing for my twinkie experience in July of 1990. But I suppose it really has nothing to do with drinking two appletinis last night. I think it was just a spur-of-the-moment appletini thing - but now that I've begun my second capuccino, I seem to have recovered from the devastating effects.

What a learning experience this entry has been. I no longer have to eat a twinkie to remember how disgusting they are. I just have to remember July, 1990. I guess that's what it means to be an adult. Or something. I wonder when I will learn about appletinis...

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!